Easy access to PhpMyAdmin

Technical support for webhosting Resellers, and questions which directly relate to their services.

Moderator: Admins

Post Reply
PeteA
newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 12:20 pm

Easy access to PhpMyAdmin

Post by PeteA » Mon Jan 16, 2006 4:56 am

Not sure if this has been covered before, but I'd like to give PhpMyAdmin access for an account to a specific person.

Basically (to set the scene), I have setup a development subdomain on one site (ie. dev.domain.net). I have setup an ftp account to 'dev', so that the developers can upload files, however they also need access to PhpMyAdmin.

I can't give them the logon to Control Panel for 'domain.net' as this would give them far too much control etc.

Additionally they are behind a corporate firewall, which blocks all ports other than 80 and 443 - just to confuse issues even more :)

I know that I could create my own PhpMyAdmin for 'domain.net', but this seems senseless as there is already one in existence within Control Panel.

porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine » Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:25 am

To the best of my knowledge, you're out of luck on this one. CPanels phpmyadmin must be called from with CPanel, and while you can call cpanel using http://www.domain.com/cpanel/ it will use the cpanel redirect.cgi to push you to the appropriate port (hence that will not get you past the corporate firewall).
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com

gands
newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:17 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post by gands » Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:33 am

You'll have to install a separate instance of phpmyadmin. Take a look here:
http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=45045

PeteA
newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 12:20 pm

Post by PeteA » Thu Jan 19, 2006 4:08 am

Thought I'd have to do this to be honest :)

Oh well, not too harsh I guess if I stick on a Apache password in addition to the usual MySQL bits.

A subdomain of mysql.domain.net or phpmyadmin.domain.net seems to be a sensible thing to do.

thanks all

Post Reply