Browsing before resolving

Technical support for general webhosting clients and questions relating to their webhosting services.

Moderator: Admins

Post Reply
graham
newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2003 2:04 pm
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Contact:

Browsing before resolving

Post by graham »

It will be a little while before I change nameservers over, and am hoping to verify my site content is loading properly beforehand.

Is the there a way I can do this on www6 (i.e. some combination like www6.prioritycolo.com/!username)?

Graham.
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

Usually resellers can do it with the following format:

Http://[ip address + 1]/~username/

So if you set the domain up on say 66.11.162.40 it would be:

http://66.11.162.41/~username/
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

Stephen wrote:
Usually resellers can do it with the following format:

Http://[ip address + 1]/~username/

So if you set the domain up on say 66.11.162.40 it would be:

http://66.11.162.41/~username/
I have been pulling my hair out wondering why this wouldn't work until I noticed the "+1" on the IP address. Before that I was getting server 511 errors.

Just out of curiiosity, why is the +1 required?

I honestly have no clue and wondered the same about this when we first set it up. All I know is thats the way it's always been, and apparently thats the way in which many of them function. My guess would be that the module that does the /~username/ does not end up loading/recognizing the same IP address that the domain is on for any given reason (why exactly, I have no idea).
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
Post Reply