php Upgrade

Suggestions and Recommendations that you'd like to voice your opinion on. If you've got an idea that you would like to see implamented, this is the place to say it, where it can be heard by all.

Moderator: Admins

Post Reply
charlie
newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 8:20 am

php Upgrade

Post by charlie »

A new version of php has been released to correct a vulnerability (see below):

http://www.php.net/release_4_2_2.php

Will this be installed/compiled soon?
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

Will be done soon, no worries :)
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
charlie
newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 8:20 am

Post by charlie »

Any word on this yet, Myles?

It fixes a pretty serious vulnerability. I'd imagine you'd want to make this a pretty high priority. Some 'underground' sites are starting to publish tutorials for script kiddies on how to exploit this and take over vulnerable servers - better safe than sorry...
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

oops!

Forgot to put it on the forum, this upgrade was done a few days ago to the main reseller server when we noted CPanel was not automagically updating it (seems they dont do php on their automatic upgrades).
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
charlie
newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 8:20 am

Post by charlie »

So it has - I should have run phpinfo() and checked first! :)

Don't you just love WHM/Cpanel? :twisted:
porcupine wrote:oops!

Forgot to put it on the forum, this upgrade was done a few days ago to the main reseller server when we noted CPanel was not automagically updating it (seems they dont do php on their automatic upgrades).
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

Actually....

I didn't know that buildapache.sea had php upgraded, i figured when buildapache.sea was updated, the automatic updates would be too, i did it the hard way, didn't find out till just after i finished i coulda just done the buildapache.
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
Post Reply