CGI Access Outside Of CGI-BIN

Suggestions and Recommendations that you'd like to voice your opinion on. If you've got an idea that you would like to see implamented, this is the place to say it, where it can be heard by all.

Moderator: Admins

Post Reply
MrCrap
newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 10:07 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

CGI Access Outside Of CGI-BIN

Post by MrCrap »

I know that some hosts offer CGI access outside of the cgi-bin using option+execgi command or something similar. Would this be possible? there are several perl scripts that are required to run outside of the cg-bin that i would like to use. I am also hosting a development company that would like this feature.



Todd
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

you can always link them into your cgi-bin directory using "ln -s /cgi-bin/path /actualpath".

I dont think enabling cgi-bin in the base www directory is a good idea though.
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
MrCrap
newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 10:07 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Post by MrCrap »

It was just a thought. I didn't think it was that great of an idea?
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

I think it would cause problems. Thats why theres a seperate dir for cgi-bin, just link it in to the cgi-bin dir and it should work :).
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
Post Reply