Trouble connecting to MYsql database

Technical support for owners of colocated servers, and dedicated servers, and support/questions specific to this type of hosting.

Moderator: Admins

Post Reply
MrCrap
newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 10:07 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Trouble connecting to MYsql database

Post by MrCrap »

I have a client that has a subdomain off my server it is jrrobotics.crappyhosting.com I am trying to install vbulletin for him. I keep getting an error such as this:

Warning: Unknown MySQL Server Host 'jrrobot_adam@jrrobotics.crappyhosting.com' (2) in /home/jrrobot/public_html/forums/upload/admin/db_mysql.php on line 40

Warning: MySQL Connection Failed: Unknown MySQL Server Host 'jrrobot_adam@jrrobotics.crappyhosting.com' (2) in /home/jrrobot/public_html/forums/upload/admin/db_mysql.php on line 40

Warning: mysql_select_db(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /home/jrrobot/public_html/forums/upload/admin/db_mysql.php on line 47

The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please go back to the last step and ensure that you have entered all your login details correctly.


The config file looks like this:

// type of database running
// (only mysql is supported at the moment)
$dbservertype="mysql";

// hostname or ip of server
$servername="jrrobot_adam@jrrobotics.crappyhosting.com";

// username and password to log onto db server
$dbusername="jrrobot_adam";
$dbpassword="273821";

// name of database
$dbname="jrrobot_vbulletin";

// technical email address - any error messages will be emailed here
$technicalemail = "Munkaboo@comcast.net";

// use persistant connections to the database
// 0 = don't use
// 1 = use
$usepconnect = 0;

// which users are allowed to view the admin log
// separate each userid with a comma
$canviewadminlog = "1";

// which users are allowed to prune the admin log
// separate each userid with a comma
$canpruneadminlog = "";


What should the servername be? I have tried every combo I can think of localhost, localhost@ etc etc.. I have added just about every combo to the allowed hosts also.

Thanks for any assistance.
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 703
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

Try replacing:

// hostname or ip of server
$servername="jrrobot_adam@jrrobotics.crappyhosting.com";


With:

// hostname or ip of server
$servername="localhost";

or

// hostname or ip of server
$servername="127.0.0.1";

(127.0.0.1 is the ip address for a loopback to your server, same with any windows box, etc.)
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
MrCrap
newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 10:07 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Post by MrCrap »

It would have been working all this time if I would have remembered to add user to database button. I had assumed that once you created a user it was automatically added. Stupid thing is, I have made that mistake before. :oops:
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 703
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

that too helps :)
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
Post Reply