Fedora to what?? Looking at options.

pretty much anything you want

Moderator: Admins

Post Reply
dgbaker
newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:57 pm

Fedora to what?? Looking at options.

Post by dgbaker »

Since Fedora is a royal pain to keep updated, what would be the best course to take?

Live with and stay with Fedora?
CentOS upgrade path available?
RHE upgrade path available?
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Fedora to what?? Looking at options.

Post by porcupine »

dgbaker wrote:Since Fedora is a royal pain to keep updated, what would be the best course to take?

Live with and stay with Fedora?
CentOS upgrade path available?
RHE upgrade path available?
Living with Fedora isn't that bad. Aside from that, CentOS over RHE anyday. Its the same OS (except for the name/headers), except it's free.
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
dgbaker
newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:57 pm

Post by dgbaker »

I went with CentOS. Other than a few bumps upgrading from FC1 to CentOS 3.4 final was not that bad. I had missed a few little steps which caused some headaches but all and all went pretty good.

Thanks
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

dgbaker wrote:I went with CentOS. Other than a few bumps upgrading from FC1 to CentOS 3.4 final was not that bad. I had missed a few little steps which caused some headaches but all and all went pretty good.

Thanks
Just out of curiousity, what walkthrough did you use?
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
dgbaker
newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:57 pm

Post by dgbaker »

Sorry for the delay, did not get notification.

I basically found a couple of walkthroughs one meant for white box, and another one and basically melded them together.

Here is what I ended up with,

Code: Select all

yum clean
rpm --import http://mirror.centos.org/centos-3/RPM-GPG-KEY-CentOS-3 
rpm -Uvh http://mirror.centos.org/centos/3.4/os/i386/RedHat/RPMS/centos-release-3-4.2.i386.rpm
rpm -Uvh http://mirror.centos.org/centos/3.4/os/i386/RedHat/RPMS/yum-2.0.8-1.centos.7.noarch.rpm
cd /etc
mv yum.conf yum.conf.mysaved
cp yum.conf.rpmnew yum.conf
cd -
yum list updates
more yum.conf.mysaved
vi yum.conf
exclude= samba-client* openssh-server* samba-common* cyrus-sasl-devel* openssh-clients* cyrus-sasl* openssl* samba* openssh* squirrelmail* kernel* php* httpd* perl* mysql* mod _ssl* imap* spamassassin* caching-nameserver*

yum update
yum install rpmdb-redhat
yum update
yum install modutils nroff-i18n atk gnome-vfs2
yum upgrade
cat /etc/*release*
rpm -qa|grep httpd
rpm -qa|grep mod_
rpm -qa|grep php
yum upgrade
init 6
yum install up2date


wget http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/kernel/module-init-tools/module-init-tools-3.1.tar.gz 

tar -xzvf module-init-tools-3.1.tar.gz
cd module*
vi Makefile.in

./configure --prefix=/ 
make moveold 
make 
make install 


./generate-modprobe.conf /etc/modprobe.conf 

Then replace all occurrences of "/proc/ksyms" by "/proc/kallsyms" in /etc/rc.sysinit 
As you know there where a couple of glitches with kernel, but the above worked in the end.
porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by porcupine »

Good stuff.

I dont think we'll be running CentOS 3.4 on any internal, or managed CPanel/WHM based servers in the near future.

I've yet to receive confirmation from CPanel Inc. but it would appear that we've stumbled upon a fatal flaw of CentOS 3.4, through our own tests. Based on testing of half a dozen servers, running different hardware configurations (SCSI, SATA, single/dual cpu, etc.) we've found that the CentOS based CPanel servers seem to crash randomly while running the /scripts/upcp script, resulting in a kernel panic (and thus a downed server that needs to be manually rebooted on a near nightly basis).

Let me know if your upgraded version suffers the same fate.
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com
dgbaker
newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:57 pm

Post by dgbaker »

Oh god I hope not! So far they all have been rock solid.

Where these on the EDGE tree? The reason I ask is I saw a couple of threads of server issues do to the following task

SECURITY: auto remove parts of phpMyChat that can reveal too much information.

Apparently this had ramped up some servers causing them to pin basically and needing to be rebooted.

Just a thought.

I have one server now that is on the 10.1.0 EDGE tree with the others on the 10.0.0 EDGE tree Manual updates.
Post Reply