Disk space used reflected in whm

Technical support for webhosting Resellers, and questions which directly relate to their services.

Moderator: Admins

Post Reply
simeon
newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:46 am

Disk space used reflected in whm

Post by simeon » Fri Jun 17, 2005 12:31 pm

We're close to our space limits. We've just cleaned up a bunch of space to create a new account, but it seems to take an awful long time for whm to see this available space - is there any way to force it to update?

We're upgrading our space now, so it will be a moot issue for now, but it would be good to know for the future.

Thanks.

Simon

porcupine
Site Admin
Posts: 674
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Disk space used reflected in whm

Post by porcupine » Fri Jun 17, 2005 2:03 pm

simeon wrote:We're close to our space limits. We've just cleaned up a bunch of space to create a new account, but it seems to take an awful long time for whm to see this available space - is there any way to force it to update?

We're upgrading our space now, so it will be a moot issue for now, but it would be good to know for the future.

Thanks.

Simon
Hi Simon,

This is fairly typical on the reseller servers, primarily because we use the "allow overselling" function to ensure that people are billed based on their actual usage (not what they've allocated their customers). This ensures that people always get the most out of their accounts (and also justifies why we specifically dont offer absurd amounts of space/bandwidth, but instead let people oversell as much as their hearts desire, and pay the price only when its actually used, as it should be).

All of the resellers have a quotacheck run around midnight of ever night (you may have noticed it before, as it will boot everyone out of SSH and tell you not to log back in for 30 minutes while the quotas scan, to ensure it doesen't double-count your diskspace due to the virtfs creating a duplicate set of directories as a result of the jailshell). Given that, the quota system should "heal" any errors it may have on a nightly basis, if it does not, something is wrong, or the customer has mis-calculated.

Regards,
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc.
myles@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com

Post Reply